School Term Dates

As BJE teaches in NSW government schools, the term dates given below are for government schools. If you are looking for the term dates of a school which is not a NSW government school, please contact the school directly for information. Most schools list their term dates on their school website.

Please note that Jewish holydays begin the evening before the date listed below. Days marked with an asterisk (*) are days on which ‘work’ (writing, using electric or electronic devices, travelling in vehicles, etc) is not permitted according to halachah (Jewish law).

Term 3, 2021
Term 3, 2021 - Monday 12 July to Friday 17 September (10 weeks)
Monday 12 July Pupil-free Day - NO BJE CLASSES
Sunday 18 July Fast of 9th Av (Tisha b'Av)
Monday 6 September 1st Night Rosh HaShanah* - NO BJE CLASSES AFTER 3PM
Tues & Wed 7 & 8 September 1st & 2nd Days Rosh HaShanah* - NO BJE CLASSES
Thursday 9 September Tzom Gedalyah (Fast of Gedaliah)
Wednesday 15 September Kol Nidre - NO BJE CLASSES AFTER 3PM
Thursday 16 September Yom Kippur* - NO BJE CLASSES
In school holidays:
Tues & Wed 21 & 22 September 1st* & 2nd* Days Sukkot (Tabernacles)
Tuesday 28 September Shemini Atzeret*
Wednesday 29 September Simchat Torah*
Term 4, 2021
Term 4, 2021 - Tuesday 5 October to Friday 17 December
Sunday 28 November 1st Night Chanukah
Sunday 5 December Final Night Chanukah
Monday 6 December Final Day Chanukah
Thursday 9 December Last day of BJE classes for 2021
TERM 1, 2022
Term 1, 2022 - Friday 28 January to Friday 8 April
Friday 28 January Pupil-free Day - NO BJE CLASSES
Monday 31 January Pupil-free Day - NO BJE CLASSES
Monday 7 February BJE classes start for 2022
Wednesday 16 March Fast of Esther
Thursday 17 March Purim
Friday 18 March Shushan Purim
In school holidays:
Friday 15 April Fast of the First Born, Ist Night Seder, Good Friday (Public Holiday)
Saturday & Sunday 16 & 17 April Pesach (Passover), Days 1* & 2*
Friday & Saturday 22 & 23 April Pesach (Passover), Days 7* & 8*
TERM 2, 2022
Term 2, 2022 - Tuesday 26 April to Friday 1 July
Tuesday 26 April Pupil-free Day - NO BJE CLASSES
Thursday 28 April Yom HaSho'ah (Holocaust Remembrance Day)
Wednesday 4 May Yom HaZikaron (Israel's Remembrance Day)
Thursday 5 May Yom HaAtzma'ut (Israel's Independence Day)
Thursday 19 May Lag BaOmer (33rd Day of the Omer)
Sunday 29 May Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day)
Sunday & Monday 5 & 6 June Shavuot* - NO BJE CLASSES
Monday 13 June Public Holiday (Queen's Birthday)