School Term Dates

As BJE teaches in NSW government schools, the term dates given below are for government schools. If you are looking for the term dates of a school which is not a NSW government school, please contact the school directly for information. Most schools list their term dates on their school website.

Please note that Jewish holydays begin the evening before the date listed below. Days marked with an asterisk (*) are days on which ‘work’ (writing, using electric or electronic devices, travelling in vehicles, etc) is not permitted according to halachah (Jewish law).

Term 3, 2020
Term3, 2020 - Monday 20 July to Friday 25 September (10 weeks)
Monday 20 July Pupil-free Day - no BJE classes
Thursday 30 July Fast of Tishah B'Av
Sat & Sun 19 & 20 September 1st & 2nd Days Rosh HaShanah*
In school holidays:
Monday 28 September Yom Kippur* (Day of Atonement)
Sat & Sun 3 & 4 October 1st & 2nd Day Sukkot*
Saturday 10 October Shemini Atzeret*
Sunday 11 October Simchat Torah* (Rejoicing of the Law)
Term 4, 2020
Term 4, 2020 - Monday 12 October to Friday 18 December, 2020 (10 weeks)
Thursday 10 December Last day of BJE classes for 2020
Thursday 10 December 1st night of Chanukah
Thursday 17 December Final night of Chanukah
Thurs & Fri 17 & 18 December Pupil-free Days