• Search
  • Menu

Calendar of Jewish Dates & Holydays

Following is a list of upcoming Jewish festivals and holydays. Those marked with an asterisk are designated as days of rest from school and work-related activities, according to Jewish law. Please take these dates into account when planning examinations, excursions and other events. Activities such as writing and travelling in motor vehicles are not permitted on designated days of rest. Jewish students are exempt from attending school on these days. Please note that holy days and Sabbath observance begin at sunset on the previous evening. Many students will attend synagogue on these days.

jewish-calendar

Jewish Year 5778
Secular Year 2018
Pesach, 1st Night (Seder)Friday 30 March 2018
Pesach (Passover), 1st & 2nd Days*Saturday 31 March & Sunday 1 April 2018
Pesach (Passover), 7th & 8th Days*Friday 6 & Saturday 7 April 2018
Yom HaSho’ah (Holocaust Remembrance Day) Thursday 12 April 2018
Yom HaAtzma’ut (Israel’s Independence Day) Thursday 19 April 2018
Lag baOmer (33rd day of the Omer)Thursday 3 May 2018
Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day) Sunday 13 May 2018
Shavuot (Festival of Weeks)*Sunday 20 & Monday 21 May 2018
Fast of 17th TammuzSunday 1 July 2018
Tisha b’Av (Fast of 9 Av)Sunday 22 July 2018
Jewish Year 5779
Rosh HaShanah (New Year)*Monday 10 & Tuesday 11 September 2018
Tzom (Fast of) GedaliahWednesday 12 September 2018
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement)*Wednesday 19 September 2018
Sukkot, 1st & 2nd Days*Monday 24 & Tuesday 25 September 2018
Hoshana RabbahSunday 30 September 2018
Shemini Atzeret*Monday 1 October 2018
Simchat Torah (Rejoicing of the Law)*Tuesday 2 October 2018
Chanukah, 1st NightSunday 2 December 2018
Chanukah, Last DayMonday 10 December 2018
©2018 NSW Board of Jewish Education | All rights reserved
Design & SEO by Result Driven SEO | Sitemap