Calendar of Jewish Dates & Holydays

Following is a list of upcoming Jewish festivals and holydays. Those marked with an asterisk are designated as days of rest from school and work-related activities, according to Jewish law. Please take these dates into account when planning examinations, excursions and other events. Activities such as writing and travelling in motor vehicles are not permitted on designated days of rest. Jewish students are exempt from attending school on these days. Please note that holy days and Sabbath observance begin at sunset on the previous evening. Many students will attend synagogue on these days.

jewish-calendar

Jewish Year 5777
Secular Year 2017
Tu BiShvatSaturday 11 February 2017
Ta'anit (Fast of) EstherThursday 9 March 2017
PurimSunday 12 March 2017
Pesach (Passover) - 1st NightMonday 10 April 2017
Pesach (Passover) - 1st & 2nd Days*Tuesday 11 & Wednesday 12 April 2017
Pesach (Passover) - 7th & 8th (Final) Days*Monday 17 & Tuesday 18 April 2017
Yom HaSho'ah (Holocaust Remembrance Day)Monday 24 April 2017
Yom HaZikaron (Israel's Remembrance Day)Monday 1 May 2017
Yom HaAtzma'ut (Israel's Independence Day)Tuesday 2 May 2017
Lag baOmer (33rd day of the Omer)Sunday 14 May 2017
Yom Yerushalayim (Jerusalem Day)Wednesday 24 May 2017
Shavuot (Festival of Weeks)*Wednesday 31 May & Thursday 1 June 2017
Fast of 17th TammuzTuesday 11 July 2017
Tisha b'Av (Fast of 9 Av)Tuesday 1 August 2017
Jewish Year 5778
Rosh HaShanah (New Year)Thursday 21 & Friday 22 September 2017
Tzom (Fast of) GedaliahSunday 24 September 2017
Yom Kippur (Day of Atonement)Saturday 30 September 2017
Sukkot, 1st & 2nd DaysThursday 5 & Friday 6 October 2017
Hoshana RabbahWednesday 11 October 2017
Shemini AtzeretThursday 12 October 2017
Simchat TorahFriday 13 October 2017
1st Night ChanukahTuesday 12 December 2017
Final Day ChanukahThursday 21 December 2017

©2015 NSW Board of Jewish Education | All rights reserved
Design & SEO by Result Driven SEO | Sitemap